Ethernet Switching
Highlighted
Ethernet Switching

EX3400 Virtual Chassis

4 weeks ago

I'm fairly new to the Juniper switching and am running into something very odd. I have configured four EX3400 switches into a virtual chassis using the pre-configured QSFP+ ports. The installation has gone without a hitch and I can see all of the ports available in the show interfaces command except for the SFP+ ports. The only configuration I have done for the Virtual Chassis is to give membership priority to ensure the correct switch will become master. 

I have configured the SFP+ ports to be an Aggregate link to connect back to our corporate network but because they are not available in the interfaces they are not becoming active. Could anyone advise why this may be? I have been searching the Juniper forums for a few hours now and have come up short with any real answers.

Thanks,

Talan

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Ethernet Switching

Re: EX3400 Virtual Chassis

4 weeks ago

Hi,

QFSP+ ports are by default dedicated for Virtual chassis , but uplink ports need to be configured explicitly to be VCPs 

request virtual-chassis vc-port set pic-slot 1 port 0 

If this solves your problem, please mark this post as "Accepted Solution."

Regards,
A.A.
Highlighted
Ethernet Switching

4 weeks ago

Hello Talan:

If you don't see the interfaces with the show interfaces terse that means that the SFP+ might be not recognized. It could also be that these ports are configured as vc-ports. Check with the command show virtual-chassis vc-ports to see if they are listed as vc-ports. If they are then you need to delete the vc-port and after that you will see the interface listed.

To delete vc-port: https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/junos/topics/reference/command-summary/request-virtual-c...